About Us

Strata Community Association (WA) represents strata community management in Western Australia.

In 1985 the 1966 Strata Titles Act was repealed, and replaced with the Strata Titles Act 1985. At this time there was considerable confusion within the Strata Industry particularly in relation to ‘Strata Company Insurance’ and definition of what was ‘Strata Lots’ and ‘Common Property’.

The Strata Titles Institute of WA (STIWA) now known as Strata Community Association WA (SCA WA), was born in 1989 due to some passionate individuals who got together over a few beers and started talking about where strata property development was heading. These discussions determined the need for a unified industry body to bring about understanding, awareness and uniformity in the Strata Industry. The 'Industry Body', should also when necessary provide representation to Government on whatever amendments may be required to the Strata Titles Act.

The inaugural President of STIWA was Paul Smith, 1989 – 1991.

As the strata industry has developed, so too has Strata Community Australia. In 1992 State Strata Institutes agreed to create a national organisation, the National Community Titles Institute (NCTI).The NCTI offers community title managers a recognised national status with accompanying accountability and credibility.

The aim was to:

  • provide a structure and forum for better communication between regions;

  • enhance the responsibilities of industry members in a nationally consistent manner;and

  • enable representation at a national level to the Department of Education, Science and Training and other statutory bodies.


The state representatives met regularly to build an acceptable formal structure for the representation of the industry. The six state strata institutes were:

  • WA: Strata Titles Institute of Western Australia (STIWA)

  • QLD: Community Titles Institute of Queensland (CTIQ)

  • NSW: Institute of Strata Title Management (ISTM)

  • VIC: Owners Corporations Victoria (OCV)

  • ACT: Strata Managers Institute (ACT) - SMI(ACT)

  • SA:  Community and Strata Corporation Institute of SA (CTISA)


On April 2 1996, the NCTI was formally established with the first Executive Council meeting held on 3 May 1996. Colin Archer was elected the first National President. The NCTI offered community title managers a recognised national status with accompanying accountability and credibility.


In August 2010 the boards of the six state and territory bodies came together to plan for a new and more professional level of representation. They chose a name that reflected our aspirations for national recognition and the physical and human sides of our industry.


The new Strata Community Australia LTD (SCA) brand was launched on 1 July 2011, replacing the National Community Titles Institute (NCTI) brand. Each state and territory was given a mandate by the respective state members, to change their branding to bring them all together under the one name. 


1989 - 1991 Paul Smith

1991 - 1994 Sheryal Griggs

1994 - 1997 Alistair Millar

1997 - 1999 Wayne Reynolds

1999 - 2003 Karen Richardson

2003 -2004 Mark Atkinson

2004 - 2006 Jacky Courtney

2006 - 2009 Andrew Chambers

2009 - 2011 Mark Atkinson


2011 - 2012 Ida Smithwick

2012 - 2014 Andrew Chambers

2014 - 2016 Rachel Cosentino

2016 - Present Scott Bellerby


Michael Powell

Ian Laird

Sheryal Griggs

Beverley Grigo

John Angus

Ida Smithwick

Karen Richardson


Our not for profit organisation is governed by our constitution which sets out how we operate.


View the constitution by clicking here


© 2020 by SCA Ltd